Things Are Starting to Move!

Last night, as I headed for bed, I decided to check my e-mail once more before shutting my computer off for the night and should have skipped that. I found a letter from my publisher with an attachment that gave me my very first glimpse of how my book is going to look. It was very exciting to see that for the first time, but it kept me awake all night…just pondering. And the bad news is that this “glimpse” is called a Text Block and that means that I have to read my entire manuscript again to make sure that it’s edited well and is exactly as I want it to be. At this point in time, I suspect that I could actually recite the book from memory, having done this over and over and over again before this even came to be.

I don’t know how many of you who are reading this have had experience with the publishing business,though I know there are some author friends/colleagues out there who know what I’m talking about, but I have learned a ton of stuff since I signed on that dotted line back in November 2012. I had no clue that so much is involved in getting a book from the manuscript stage, which is called MS, to an actual book in print. It is quite often mind boggling. Things seem to move really (and I mean REALLY) slow for a few months and then, all of a sudden, it takes on a life of its own and starts to move faster and faster. That, too, is somewhat scary because there’s so much to do, so little time now.

Anyway, I have spent most of my day re-reading my MS and editing corrections to send back to my publisher in the next day or two. My eyes feel like two burnt coals that wish somebody would throw a bucket of cold water on them. Every now and then, though, I get just a quick glance at how great it is going to feel when this long, long project is actually sitting out there on bookshelves or being held and read by someone. I hope I fall into bed tonight and sleep like a baby. Tomorrow is another day of editing for me, but it’s also our 27th wedding anniversary, so we’ll be taking time off to go out and do something fun and that also means that I don’t have to cook.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Things Are Starting to Move!

  1. Mona lee Rooker Bain says:

    Your’ve done something that some only dream of. I’m so pleased that I get to be a part of reading your thoughts. Best wishes to you and your husband on your blessed years together.

  2. myra taylor bonner says:

    Enjoy your blog, Jackie. Had no idea of how a book was put together. Hope you and Richard enjoy your day together.
    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY

  3. Elaine Ryan says:

    Happy 27th Anniversary! Am so looking forward to reading your book!

  4. Marilyn says:

    Happy anniversary to you, happy anniversary…. No, you don’t want me to sing it to you, but I’m delighted for you. Hope your day was great. I’ll call later. I am just so darn proud of you and your book. I know it’s going to be a big success, and then all the hard work will be worth it..

  5. Jackie, Thank you for sharing your story and how your writing has progressed.

Leave a Reply

