Time Marches On!

When I first signed my contract with Oak Tree Press back in November 2012, it seemed like it was going to take FOREVER to actually get my book into actual book form. However, since I live high in the Colorado mountains and also in a tourist town with a summer season, my publisher accommodated our season (which is from Memorial Day until mid-October) and my book is coming out very soon. So, suddenly, I find myself having to tend to a lot of things that happen as one’s release date draws close.

For one thing, authors can order books to use in whatever way they wish, such as selling to friends/family or using at some special event, their launch party or whatever else they might have in mind. It takes about three to four weeks to get the books after you order them, so I’m going to jump on the bandwagon just as soon as I know what the price of my book is going to be.

Then there is the issue of autographed books, which I’ve decided I will probably sign and sell myself and mail out to those who want them. That opens another can of worms and I’m rather frozen in place until I am told what the retail price of my book is going to be, so that I can tell those who are waiting for my book what their costs will end up totaling.

Like so many things in life, particularly in the genre of the arts, one simply does not consider that music, art and books are a business and businesses take a lot of time and work. This book has become quite an education for me as we move from one phase into the next. But I’ve met a lot of wonderful people in all walks of life, some in the book publishing business, lots of other authors, screen writers and lovers of books. On the business end of it all, I now have an attorney and an accountant, which I’ve never really needed to have “on tap” before. I’ve learned a lot about taxes, marketing, endurance and tenacity. Like old age, it ain’t for sissies.

Meantime, I’ve finished all of my text block edits and my publisher is working on my cover. Once that is done and I see it, the book will be off to the printer and the fun of all this work finally begins. I hope all of you will hang in there with me because it won’t be long now.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time Marches On!

  1. Barbara Cummins Shepperson says:

    I’m so glad that things are finally falling together and you will soon have your book in your hands. I’m so proud of you! Love you, Barb

  2. Debbie Cooper says:

    Yes Time Marches on…that is one of my favorite sayings also……I am still excited for you…I know I have said that to you a lot…but hahahah…I am excited for you…Yes I can see where it is like running a business…..we have worked with printers and such our whole working life….and a few were book publishers….but they all have something in common they wanted it yesterday…and the spelling all right. !!!!! Love to you and I know you to are excited……

    • jtzortman says:

      Debbie – You cannot tell me that you are excited for me too many times. No, it’s not “like” running a business, it is a business when you become a writer. Just ask my accountant. (hah!) What sort of business do you have where you use printers and book publishers. I guess I never knew about this side of your life, so tell me more. Love to you, too!

  3. Shelly Moore says:

    Getting very excited to see the finished work!

  4. Elaine Ryan says:

    Just waiting in line to read the book! I’m SO proud of you! And so is Pete!

Leave a Reply

