ME & MURPHY’S LAW

Frankly, though I can’t be certain of this, the fact that my maternal grandmother’s name was Sarah Elizabeth Murphy makes me suspect that I may, on occasion, get a little bit more than my fair share of Murphy’s Law.

For example, two of my grandchildren just arrived home for the summer from their respective colleges, Northern Michigan University and Colorado Mesa University. Oddly, though they are not siblings, they both happen to love my home-made salsa. So, when opportunity presents itself, I make it especially for them and I decided to do this yesterday.

The first thing that went wrong was when I decided to save a bit of the extra tomato juice in order to thin the salsa down since it tends to thicken as it sits in the fridge overnight. So, I had a container in my left hand and opened the fridge door, bent over and opened the veggie bin with my other hand. Yep, the tomato juice spilled all over my sandals and the rug in front of the refrigerator. In my infinite wisdom, I just stepped over to the rug in front of the kitchen sink to clean this up and got the juice all over that rug, as well. The color of these rugs is sand, which tells you how almost white they are. I have ordered two replacement rugs, but they haven’t yet come.

After getting that mess cleaned up, I went downstairs and put both rugs into the washer. Of course, they came out in tatters because they were already at that “iffy” stage, which is why I’d ordered new ones to replace them. So, into the trash they both went.

Putting all of that aside, my publisher had sent all of her authors a missive about STYLE, so since I owed my first cousin a USPS letter, I decided to use Billie’s instructions and format my letter, just to see if it works. The good news is that it does. The bad news is that after I wrote and printed my letter, I tried to print out the envelope and haven’t seen it since. Instead my printer is locked up and every light on it is flashing, though I see no evidence of a paper jam anywhere, and it makes a horrific grinding noise, if I hit print. So, I quickly e-mailed our computer tech of many years, whom I knew had moved to Utah, but he can sometimes fix things remotely. He has his e-mails set to automatically carbon copy to the company who bought his clients in the town where I live and told me that they’d contact me promptly, which they did.

They seem like super nice people, so I set up an appointment for them to come (36 miles each way) and fix my printer. The problem is that they can’t do it until Thursday of the coming week. I can use the printer at my husband’s desk, but discovered that it isn’t keyed into my computer to do that, so I have to e-mail everything to my husband and then go over there and print it out. Then I discovered that his printer/fax/scanner is acting up and may or may not actually work until mine is fixed.

Escaping, I left the house and went downtown to the grocery store and when I got home, there were my new throw rugs waiting outside the door! I actually thought the tide had turned in my favor. But when I took them out of the box, I discovered that they are shorter by an inch each way than they were said to be and are really, really thin…not at all like the ones they are to replace, even though they came from the same place. And the tag says they are made in the USA. In desperation, I put them down anyway.

Therefore, it certainly appears to me that Murphy’s Law was loose and running rampant through my house on Friday. So…how was your day?

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ME & MURPHY’S LAW

  1. Debbie Cooper says:

    Hope that you are having a better day today……the last time I ordered rugs….when they came I think they too were a lot thinner as they for the most part were the same rugs….just updated…we went yesterday to get ink for our printer….hmmmmm…we just bought a new printer…only cost 5.00 more then the ink was going to cost……GOOD LUCK !!!!! Love ya Cuz’….

    • jtzortman says:

      Well, Debbie, my Murphy line does tie into the Lees via my Grandma Murphy marrying Will O. Lee. 🙂 I know about the cost of ink cartriges, but didn’t know printers were close to the same price. I may have to replace mine, too. I love this one because it turns pages over automatically and prints on the back, if directed. I think that gizmo on the back (that turns the pages over) is where we’ll find the envelope that has simply disappeared. Love you, too!

  2. myra taylor bonner says:

    Sounds like the day from hell….hope things were better the next day 🙂

Leave a Reply

