My Book Has A Silver Lining!

Some amazing information has come to me via friends/family who are ordering autographed copies of my book “We Are Different Now”. With each check that arrives, I get a short note from almost everyone and have found that, even though our world has changed drastically over the last few years, loving hearts can really quickly restore your faith in the goodness that is still out there in numbers you cannot fathom.

I have one friend who lives just outside of Cincinnati (where I lived 31 years ago) who wants three books. She wants one for herself and her husband, another to give to a friend who has suffered a recent loss and another to donate to a funeral home. What a gesture!

A Taylor cousin (via Edwards)is going to save the book to give to her father as part of his Christmas. Her father is my father’s first cousin and somewhere about the age of 87 or so. But he’s still out there on the golf course as often as possible and is still very handsome and since he’s single, very much sought after by the ladies of his age and younger.

A fellow grieving grandma, who is in a group that I belong to, ordered an autographed book for herself and sent a sweet note asking me to let her know when my book is on the market because she wants to buy two more to donate to libraries. She also overpaid a little bit and insists that I keep the difference so that she can help out any way that she can. This woman has suffered a tremendous loss in her life that nobody can understand unless you’ve suffered it yourself, but what a loving and compassionate heart she has. She is truly paying it forward.

A Lee first cousin, who works for an elementary school in Kentucky, ordered her own autographed book and when she mentioned my book to the principal, he ordered an autographed book for their school library.

My dear friend who is leaving for Hawaii soon (her birthplace) ordered her own book and then reminded me to save a second one for her to give to her daughter, who is going to college to become a nurse.

Yet another Lee cousin (my maternal side) wants my book to read to her mother as soon as she gets it. Her elderly mother has been quite ill and this person is taking care of her and doing a spectacular job. One more example of a loving heart.

I have pending orders from people of all ages and in all occupations. That has just been completely amazing to me. Young people want to read it, middle aged people and the “mature” group all want it and they live all over the country. Some are even in the U.K. There are doctors, dentists, nurses, ministers, carpenters, electricians, marketing directors, salespersons, stylists, college students, retirees, housewives, young mothers, massage therapists, chiropractors, waitresses, other authors…on and on. I have to say that this book has turned out to be the silver lining to the terrible tragedy of the loss of my first grandson, who remains so dear to my heart almost three years later. Yes, angels do walk among us.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

