Pete’s Quarters

Christy's Quarters 018

A package came in the mail today from my Murphy cousin who manages the gift shop at Monticello. Her name is Christy Murphy Campbell and she has read my book “We Are Different Now”. It was especially meaningful to her, due to the fact that she recently lost her 24-year-old niece, whom she loved like a daughter. Anyway, when I opened the package, out fell two BIG quarters (about the size of a coaster) with a note card. In the note, she told me that when she saw these big quarters, she immediately thought of the stories about Pete and quarters. Therefore, she sent two, one for me and one for my daughter, Barb, (Pete’s mother) to either put on the memorials we have for Pete in our homes or at his memorial where he fell to his death. I would never put them up there because someone would surely take them.

Words fail me about how to express how unique and thoughtful this gift turned out to be. It gave me goose bumps when I read her note. Therefore, I wanted to share it with anyone who sees my blog. Christy is near and dear to me and this has been the most wonderful surprise. The smaller quarter in the picture is one that we’ve found since Pete died.

If you don’t know the story about the quarters, you need to read my book.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pete’s Quarters

  1. Barbara Cummins Shepperson says:

    What a thoughtful gift from Christy!!

  2. jtzortman says:

    Hey, you! I didn’t think you’d be able to write so soon after your surgery. I am delighted to hear from you. I took a shower last night (we worked in the yard all day) and left my phone upstairs on my nightstand, so I didn’t see that Stacey (or you) called me until about 10:30 last night. That would be 12:30 a.m. your time, so I waited till today to return your call, which I’ll do in a minute. Love you!

Leave a Reply

