A Day With Many Facets

It’s just 10:45 a.m. where I live and what a busy day it has been already. First of all, we were up by 7:30 a.m. for the scheduled tree men to come and cut down a big pine tree next to our deck. It’s been there for the 29 years (and before) since we built this house. So, it’s a sad thing, but its trunk is touching the house and with our windy winters and heavy snow, if it should fall, it’ll take most of the roof out. Well, the guy’s truck has some problem, so he might not make it till this afternoon or even not until Monday after work. It was originally scheduled for last Saturday and they just didn’t show up. It’s beginning to look like this tree just wasn’t meant to leave us yet, which is fine with me.

Our daughter got married today, so we have a reception to go to at 4:00. This wedding has been a long time coming (over three years now), so this is an exciting day for our family and a big event and there’s no way we are going to miss that reception, even if I am limping. So any tree cutting will have to be done without us present.

My left knee has been hurting for five weeks now, so I saw the orthopedic doc and the x-rays look great, but I “might” have a torn meniscus. So, it’s anti-inflammatory meds for two weeks, then a joint injection and then an MRI. Had to see the family doc at 9:00 this morning because I need to be back on my feet before my husband’s shoulder surgery on the 20th because he won’t be able to use his right hand/arm for two weeks which means I’m elected to do both my jobs and his.

But the good news is that the day is beautiful – perfect for a wedding – and we are so happy to welcome our new son-in-law into our crazy family, at long last. My daughter, mother of Pete, has not been happy for a very long time, so it is so wonderful to know that she is again and that she has a husband she loves to share the rest of her life with. For the first time in her life, she doesn’t have to work anymore. It’s all good.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day With Many Facets

  1. myra bonner says:

    Very happy to hear the good news! As a mom, I know how we feel when our daughters or sons find the right person in their lives. Your heart must be happy! 💖

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, Myra, I have a very happy heart. The reception was wonderful and she was a gorgeous bride. Josh looked very handsome and they are ecstatic together. They got married up at Pete’s Spot on the mountain.

  2. Barbara Cummins Shepperson says:

    So happy for everyone, Jackie. Having their wedding at Pete’s Spot made the day mean so much more, I’m sure. May they have many, many years of happiness!

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, their wedding/reception was just wonderful. One of my friends from high school said that Barb looked like she’d been touched by angel in her picture up at Pete’s Spot. I love that!

Leave a Reply

