Why I Haven’t Written A Blog In Ten Days

Sometimes, in the midst of selling/marketing your book(s) or creating the next one, life suddenly reaches out and smacks you right in the back of the head. That is exactly the reason why I’ve not updated my blog during the last ten days.

My husband had to have shoulder surgery yesterday and getting ready for that was a major job, especially since we live at 8000 feet in the Colorado mountains and snow/winter can close in on us at any time. The two of us have frantically worked to get the many things required to be ready for that change in place because he isn’t able to do them post-surgery. Most of those things I cannot do, like putting the lift, plow and chains on the Jeep; carrying the deck furniture all the way out to the shed and moving the snow blower to the front deck, etc.

In the midst of it all, we had a huge pine tree cut down before it fell on our roof during a winter storm and took half the house out. The person we hired delayed that for 16 days and then the ordeal it turned into was just amazing, especially with our daily constant Colorado rains. Sawdust lay thick on the roof and all over everything and, literally, rained down for days. This took precedence over our tasks at hand and some things now will have to wait beneath the snow pack and be tended to next spring.

This is not my first surgical rodeo with my hubby, but it’s certainly been an interesting ride. It astounded me to discover that he doesn’t remember one single thing that happened yesterday after his early morning surgery. He was, evidently, much loopier than he looked. And now that I can see he isn’t going to be in excruciating pain post-surgery, relaxation is coming back and I find myself pretty much flat on my face.

For anyone who thinks their husband isn’t doing much around the house, especially if they are retired, let me tell you that should the occasion arise where you find yourself having to do both his jobs and your own, you will be stunned. But as the vows say, “…in sickness and in health,” and he’s sick right now and I am not. Therefore, he’s my priority for the next two weeks. I am blessed that he is super healthy and is going to recuperate four weeks earlier than the doctor first predicted. So, I shall creatively return to my blog ASAP.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Haven’t Written A Blog In Ten Days

  1. Linda says:

    I encountered the same thing when my husband had unexpected bypass surgery…whew, did I ever miss him and all that he did to keep us going. Nothing like a ‘gentle’ reminder now and then. Healing energy coming your way, to both of you.

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you for the healing energy, Linda. It seems to be working for Richard because he’s doing great. I’m starting to wilt a bit and ache all over. We’re still having constant rain and now have snow on the mountains. The rain isn’t normal for CO in September, so I think a bit of sunshine would really perk things up. Yep, these reminders are good, but also hard to endure.

Leave a Reply

