Closing the gap between blog postings!

My muse seems to have forsaken me momentarily or perhaps I simply have too much on my plate. We aren’t quite to the two-week mark for my husband’s post-surgical visit with his doctor and I compare his behavior to having a bad toddler to tend to again. He feels wonderful and has had no pain, so doctor’s orders are not his primary concern. Once we reach Thursday and he’s given more free rein, I plan to celebrate like it is New Year’s Eve.

Meantime, I am so tired that I sometimes make no sense, usually have four unfinished projects going at the same time and have become felony clumsy. Yesterday I ran into a recently widowed friend at the post office, gave her a hug and knocked everything in her hands to the ground as I lowered my arm. Other days I forget to remind hubby to do his PT exercises until around 3:00 PM and that’s not something he will do four times a day, unless he must. So, let’s not even talk about how dinners are going.

Then, for whatever reason, I’ve suddenly become obsessively inspired to Christmas shop. We are having warm days and cold nights with fall at it’s glorious peak and the town is filled with tourists who’ve driven hundreds of miles to see the colors, but my mind is leaping ahead with great intensity. Who is this person?

In those rare moments when I don’t have other things to do (such as Christmas shop), I have joined Manic Readers, Goodreads and Linkedin and have been occupied writing profiles and all of the other things that each one requires. And I did write one interview for another author’s blog that will go live in November. Therefore, hang in there with me and click on the “About” button at the top of the page.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Closing the gap between blog postings!

  1. dianekratz says:

    Awe social media! Isn’t wonderful? I’ve tried to remember what my life was like before I had them. You need some time for yourself, so I don’t see anything wrong with Christmas shopping (I was looking at Christmas stuff right before I logged on. I mean those presents are not going to buy themselves! LOL!) Nothing worse in this world than a sick husband.I feel your pain. 🙂 I hope he gets better soon. Hang in there.
    Diane

    • jtzortman says:

      Great thought about my Christmas shopping being some time for myself, Diane. My husband feels great, but I’m terrified that he’s going to tear his surgery up doing stuff the doc was specific about him not doing. It’s a guy thing, I guess.

  2. L Reed says:

    It is good to know that I am not in this boat alone! Isn’t this supposed to be a time when we ‘take it easy’ instead of having too many things to do in too few hours?! But, Christmas shopping?? You’ll be ahead of the game while I am back in July or maybe even May! Good luck with everything.

    • jtzortman says:

      We have no home mail delivery here, Linda, so I have to go down to the post office to get the mail daily. Therefore, I look in the store windows and I am seeing some really neat stuff, so I’m shopping. This isn’t normal for me at all, but I’m actually enjoying getting it done.

Leave a Reply

