Writer Down!!!

Looks like I may be unable to get to my computer for a time, so I won’t be able to write on my blog or answer e-mails, do Facebook, etc.  Friday afternoon I will have meniscus surgery on my left knee.  The surgeon tells me that I can put weight on it right away, so that’s the good news.  He also says it will have a rather awkward large bandage on it and it will be quite swollen, which is the bad side.

My hurdle is going to be the first set of 15 steps that takes me from the ground floor of our house (basement/entry hall) to the main floor.  Luckily, the guest room with a bath are there with the kitchen adjacent, so my hubby and I will sleep there for a time.  However, the computers are both another 15 steps on up into the loft office and also the master bedroom and bath.  I’m not sure how long it will be before I can accomplish that little feat.  Hopefully, it will just be a brief period of time.

I intended to buy an iPad and then don’t know if it even has a word processor in it or not, so am sort of leaning towards a laptop.  As a writer, I need to have the ability to b0th write and print.  But it doesn’t look like I’ll have time to buy either one before Friday.  My phone is a dumb phone, so it’s no help whatsoever, unless I want to text or talk.

Therefore, this writer can be colored “down” for now, but I’ll be back up just as soon as possible and will have to get back to the business at hand.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Promo. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Writer Down!!!

  1. Joan Fussner says:

    Take the “down time” and use it wisely. Relax and heal. Let people help you. Call in your markers. What the heck, milk it!

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you, Joni. I will do my best to use the “down time” wisely. There isn’t going to be a lot of it because I’m already scheduled to start formal P.T. next Wednesday. My doc wants you up and moving right away. He gave me five days to do passive P.T. at home and then it’s the hard stuff. But that works well for me and it keeps the knees strong. I think all of my “markers” belong to my hubby. 🙂

  2. Praying for a quick recovery, Jackie. And my vote is for the laptop.

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you for the prayers, John. Looks like the laptop is winning the poll, so a laptop it shall be. I wish I didn’t have to get one with Windows 8, though, as I’ve heard it’s a mess. The only thing I see without it is Dell. Now I’m searching for the right brand and have no clue what I’m doing. It’s endless with me. 🙂

  3. mmgornell says:

    All the best, Friday! Will be thinking about you and sending good thoughts.

    Madeine

  4. myra bonner says:

    I believe all will go well with your surgery. Yes, the recovery will be somewhat painful, but soon you will be as good as new. Remember, you don’t have to be brave…take your pain meds when you need them 😳

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you, Myra. I learned about staying ahead of the pain when I had my knee replacement, so you can bet I’ll take my pain meds, if I need them. Richard didn’t even need his, but his joint wasn’t weight bearing. I look forward to having the healing behind me and being good as new once more.

  5. L Reed says:

    I would go for the laptop, too. I will be sending healing energy your way, before and during and after surgery!

    • jtzortman says:

      Thanks for your vote on the laptop, Linda. I look forward to receiving your healing energy and so appreciate the thoughtfulness. When I’m back where I can blog, I’d like to write about it, if that’s okay with you. I’ll discuss it with you first. My surgery is at 2:45 p.m. MST and I have to fast from midnight the night before – not even water. That’s gonna be hard to do.

  6. dianekratz says:

    Jackie,
    Take care of you. I’m sending you good thoughts for speedy recovery! I’d opted for a laptop too. I wish I had one, I might spend more time with my family. Maybe Santa will bring me one this year, I’ve been good so, maybe. 🙂 Surgery is tough and both of you recovering at the same time, you are a brave woman!
    God Bless you both,
    Diane

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you for the good thoughts and for stopping by, Diane. If you figure out what brand of laptop you want, share it with me. That’s my obstacle at this point and I only have a small window of time to buy one today. The nearest place is 40 miles away, but we have to be there for my hubby to see his audiologist at 3:00. Luckily, my husband recovered much faster than predicted and he’s doing great, though he has another three weeks of healing to go. But he’s up and around and has felt no pain whatsoever. Blessings right back atcha and I hope Santa does bring you a laptop. 🙂

      • dianekratz says:

        You sound like me Jackie. I have to drive eight miles just to get gasoline. I want an Mac. I bought a Mac OSX desk top two years ago, after using HP and a Dell before that. It took awhile to get it used to but worth every penny.

        I was an HP girl before that. A HP was my first computer. We had it for 10 years without any problems.I basically just wore out that computer. Bought another HP after that one, and it didn’t last two years. Decided I try a Dell and I had problems right after I bought it.

        Then I got my Mac. I haven’t had a problem with it since I got it. They are also least likely to get virus because they have been around forever and haven’t changed much. I guess they figured out if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. But I did have to buy Microsoft for Mac for it. It was a disk and the place where I bought it installed it, along with all my other files from my old computer. Plus I got to take the disk home.

        I just bought my daughter a HP laptop for Christmas. She’s had nothing but problems with it. Plus now you have to buy Microsoft for them over the net and renew it every year. Same with virus protection. I’m not impressed with the new HP’s. JMO!

        Let me know what you end up getting. 🙂

      • jtzortman says:

        Sounds like we both live in the Boondocks. I live high in the Colorado mountains, but the trade-off is worth it…until we need to shop, that is. Thanks for the recommendations. We had two Gateways first and then went to HP and haven’t had any trouble whatsoever with them, but they’re getting old at 7 years now. My daughter has a Dell and she’s had some problems, but nothing too serious. So, Lord only knows what brand I will buy. Frankly, I don’t think they make these things to last anymore. We had a Mac about 30 years ago before most people had computers in their homes. That’s what I learned on. Okay, I’ll let you know what I end up with, but it doesn’t look like it will be today. I need to research things a bit more before I spend that much money. One of my grandsons is really up on these things, but he’s working in Nevada right now. He’s supposed to be home for Thanksgiving, so maybe he’ll give me some advice. I’ll have to e-mail him and see what he thinks.

Leave a Reply

