My Conversations With A Magpie

  • In September, my husband and I were forced to have a huge  pine tree just outside our deck door removed because the trunk has grown so large, it was touching the house.  This caused the many little critters like squirrels, chipmunks, and small songbirds to stop coming to our house, even though we still have feeders.  Guess it just doesn’t look right to them anymore.  However, the ravens  and stellar jays are still coming and a few days ago, while feeling sorry for myself as I recuperate from recent arthroscopic knee surgery, I noticed a magpie was eating out of one of the feeders on the ground, which is a new bird to our deck.

Suddenly, as if seeing me with eyes in the back of his head, this magpie quickly turned around and walked across the deck to the glider sitting in front of the big picture window.  He then hopped up onto the seat of said glider, then onto the back and stared inside at me as if he’d known me forever.  Wow, what a treat!  I decided to talk to this new friend and began to do so.  It listened and turned its head this way and that as I admired it both verbally and visually.

Then it occurred to me, as I mention in my book “We Are Different Now”, that angels love to hide in nature and one should be mindful to watch for any unusual behavior with birds, insects or animals.  So, I said to my new feathered friend, “Pete, is that you?”  Immediately, the magpie jumped to the window glass and hung onto the frame for awhile, then flew off.  My book is  about my journey with grief after the tragic death of my beloved 21-year-old grandson, Pete, and the things we have learned since he left us, so I am always looking for “signs” from his sweet spirit.

The next day,  the same exact scenario happened a second time as I sat on the same couch talking to my girlfriend on the phone.  My husband personally witnessed both of these happenings.  Once more, I talked to the bird awhile before asking, “Pete, is that you?” and, also again, as soon as I said those words, the bird immediately leaped onto the window frame to hang and then flew away.

When I left for physical therapy the following day, this magpie flew along above and beside our car and stayed with us until he got to the back of Pete’s truck, which still sits at home, just a few blocks down the same street.  He landed across the road there as we drove on.

Arriving home from physical therapy, while getting out of the car, I was having difficulty finding the right spot to place the tip of my cane in the mud that melting snow has left on our driveway. Glancing down and finding a good place, I saw a quarter there, actually touching my cane’s tip.  I picked it up, very excited, (coins are another way we communicate with Pete’s sweet soul) and when I made it to the main floor, washed it off.  Coincidence?  Perhaps, but that’s not what I think.

Whether you believe in such things or not, you have to admit that I seem to be getting some sort of communication (or comfort, if you will) at a time when I am at a personal low point physically and emotionally.  In my heart, I know who it is and what it means.  I am blessed!

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Conversations With A Magpie

  1. Vicky points says:

    Jackie just as I did reading your book “We are Different Now” Tears are rolling down my cheeks. I am one of those that believe our loved ones touch our lives in many different ways after they are gone. My brother Jim always saw 11:11 on the clock and since we lost him I have seen it thousands of times but never before he died. I will roll over in bed and look at the clock on the night stand and there it is 11:11 and each time I see it, in the kitchen, in the car, I just know it’s him and I say I Love you Big Brother and miss you so much. I know without a doubt that your Pete is there all the time and shows you his love by all of these things. I know it gives you such comfort as it does myself. I Loved your book and I love this short story. Thank You for sharing your Gift of Writing.

    • jtzortman says:

      Vicky – Your comments are the ones that warm the hearts of writers/authors. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. I’m not sure if you know it or not, by the number 1, when seen in multiples, are very significant with those who’ve transitioned. It’s another way of them letting you know they are close. I’ve often glanced at the clock and seen 1:11 too, and it always makes me happy. I learned a lot of things after Pete died – from reading and from other people in the same situation. Big hugs to you!

  2. Myra Bonner says:

    Lucky you, Jackie…I envy you as none of this has ever happened to me. I think I would notice, but maybe not…..

    • jtzortman says:

      Myra – Do you believe that our angels communicate with us? If so, you need to be mindful to watch for found coins or unusual behavior from an animal, bird, insect, etc. Rainbows and numbers on the clock (as Vicky just reminded me), lights coming on or off when they shouldn’t, etc., clouds, songs – it’s just endless. You should read my book. I’m not saying that to sell the book, but just to tell you one place where you can find some insight. I never had many “signs” after the death of my parents or my brother, but I’ve had many since Pete died. Love you! You could also read “The Afterlife of Billy Fingers”, if you prefer.

  3. mmgornell says:

    WOW, Jackie. What an experience. I do hope you and Pete touched each other.. Get well soon!

    Madeline

    • jtzortman says:

      I thought of you when I had those “conversations” with the magpie, knowing that you would fully understand. It was an amazing experience, if nothing more. Thanks for the good wishes, too.

Leave a Reply

