“SMOKE SIGNALS”

Ute Museum 007

About a year ago, I began sending out a monthly newsletter in anticipation of the publishing of my book “We Are Different Now”to be on the market by June 2013.   So, I thought I would tell you why I chose the title  “Smoke Signals” for said newsletter.

First of all, both my paternal great-grandfather and my maternal great-grandmother were half Cherokee.  In addition, if you’ve read my book, you know the story of  the raven that attended Pete’s (the subject of my book) outdoor memorial service and also the fact that a raven has come to our house every single day since then, now three and a half years.  Raven is the patron saint of smoke signals or spirit messages represented by smoke.  Thus, it seemed perfect for the title of my newsletter.

To those of you who have stayed with me during this new adventure, I am eternally grateful for your support and loyalty.  Who knew how much work was involved after you actually write a manuscript and sign with a publisher.  I’ve met many wonderful people along the path, many of whom have become good friends, and I’ve learned more than I ever dreamed possible about the infrastructure of the book publishing world.  Many old and dear friends and relatives (and a couple of new ones) have faithfully remained by my side, as well, and cheered me on when the load got just a little bit heavy for me to carry alone.  I count you all among my blessings.

To learn more about my book, go to the top of this page and click on the “About” link.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “SMOKE SIGNALS”

  1. Diane Kratz says:

    Hope you and your hubby are doing better Jackie! Nice post!
    Diane Kratz

  2. mmgornell says:

    Great blog, Jackie. Ravens and smoke–very interesting. I was at an event a couple weeks back, and an lovely lady who stopped to chat said her grandmother always said Ravens were carriers of death messages between living and dead.

    • jtzortman says:

      That’s interesting. I suppose that’s the same as the beliefs of the Native American cultures that they bring healing magic and can shape shift. It’s neat that you and I share this love of Ravens.
      Jackie

Leave a Reply

