Sensory Overload – The New Stress!

It’s a nice snowy day in the Colorado mountains and would be absolutely perfect to just take a good novel, lie down across the guest room bed and read all afternoon.  But, alas, I am spending it trying to figure out Windows 8.1 in my new computer and the new lap top, as well.  For me, it has turned into quite a challenge.  And talk about sensory overload!  That’s probably not a good thing for anyone, but I’ll bet it’s especially bad for those of us who are now “mature”, which is a nice word for old.

So far, it has disabled my printer and my scanner, which the tech isn’t sure is going to be fixable or not, at this point.  Lucky thing that we happen to have a second new one in our office for my husband’s business, so it has now also become mine.  Let’s not even talk about the fact that my 50 years of genealogy research is now hanging there in “limbo”, due to the fact that I, apparently, just downloaded upgrades to my Family Tree Maker over the years and didn’t actually buy the most current CD.  Well, guess what we need to make my genealogy program work again?  Yep, a bonafide FTM CD.

I think the hardest part of the change over would be the new and hard-to-like e-mail program that is loaded into this thing.  I have always used Outlook or Outlook Express and now have lost approximately 250 e-mail addresses and the capacity to use folders to drag important letters into.  If there’s an address book in this particular e-mail program, I’ve yet to find it…or even to find a place to start a new one. I  also can find no capability to put a professional signature on the end of e-mails, which is essential for any writer or published author.  My publisher absolutely considers it to be essential.

But the good news is that I did finally figure out how to actually turn Windows off or restart the computer.  That only took two days.  And I also finally found the spell checker in Word!  Those two accomplishments seemed like giant leaps forward to me.  Learning where all of these hidden things are is similar to panning for gold…valuable and time consuming.

While the tech was here for four hours last night, he asked me if I write books and I told him that I do.  He then asked if one is about grief and I assured him that it is.  It turns out that his wife lost her brother recently and bought and read my book “We Are Different Now”.  Since  they do not live close, that was a surprise for me.  The whole purpose of that book was to help others cope with their own grief and it’s always nice to be told that it is comforting others.  My grandson, Pete, can live on in those pages and do what he did best, help others.

So, as a final word, if you have been communicating with me via e-mail, I really need you to send me your e-mail address again.  Otherwise, we shall lose touch. I realize that, at this point, some of you may applaud that.  Otherwise, any helpful hints those of you who are computer savvy might have would be most welcome in the comments or directly to my e-mail address.  Meantime, I’m off to order a new FTM program to recover my ancestors.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sensory Overload – The New Stress!

  1. M.M. Gornell says:

    Just amazing about the technician…must feel great to know (in person) your book helped someone, though it means they’ve also suffered a loss. Hang in there with the computer–fortunately I usually half enjoy trying to figure computer glitches/crap out, I always learn something new, and I figure it’s good for my brain. But you have my sympathy, albeit it’s coming to you electronically. Sent you my email via FB message, let me know if you didn’t get.

    Madeline

    • jtzortman says:

      Hi Madeline – I’m trying to take the same attitude about keeping mentally sharp by dealing with frustrating computer problems, but it sure makes me tired some days. 🙂 Most of all, I hate the e-mail that’s on here. The tech has to come back because none of Richard’s files transferred, among a lot of other questions I have. Thanks for leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

