Batten Down The Hatches!

Most of the time, we do not get to experience what is traditionally referred to as spring here in the Rockies.  We simply glide from winter right into summer.  However, once in a while, we do get to have a month or so between those two seasons and that seems to be the case this year.

angel feather 095When this happens, we do have some interesting weather.  For example, I checked our weather for today because it was pretty windy all  night and remained so as the morning rolled into lunchtime at high noon.  As it turns out, we are to have high winds (sometimes up to 70 mph) with a forecast of blowing dust.  This is to go on until 9:00 PM and then we will have overnight snow.  This sort of  weather rarely fails to provide us with red mud all over the cars, houses, and anything else that might be outdoors.  It also give me allergies, since I am allergic to dust.  Usually, they suspect this dust is blowing in from Utah or even Arizona.  But, as I keep pointing out to my husband, Colorado does mean “color red”.

Therefore, since I am especially lazy on Sunday afternoons, I look forward to such inclement weather and tend to enjoy nothing more than grabbing my Kindle with a good novel in it and stretching out across the guest room bed to read for a few hours.  As a writer, reading is what I find to be the most relaxing pastime.  And the more I write, the more I read.  From my fellow writers, I have learned that this is very common among those of us  who are in our field.  Obviously, in order to write successfully, one also must have a tremendous love of books.

So, having said that, I am off to do exactly that.  I am in the second book of a wonderful trilogy by a famous author.  Thank you for stopping by and I hope you’ll let me know that you were here.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

