Words and Music

Recently I was searching for a particular item related to the word MIZPAH.  During said ramblings, an unexpected question was asked of me.  It was, “Where did you first hear about the word MIZPAH?  And when I rummaged around in my mind to the source of that particular word, I was back in my teens and the people who had wandered in and out of my life.

The only time I’ve ever actually Jackie & Claudette Jan. 11, 1957 heard the word MIZPAH used was by a really nice, handsome young man that I once knew who was the equipment manager for Ralph Marterie’s orchestra back in the 1950s.  He was also a trumpet player and, during the time of our friendship, he became a musician in that orchestra, which was really exciting.  Music was and still is a particular passion of mine and he is just a part of that history.  I am on the right in the picture , standing on a stool beside a tall friend from my high school class.

On the night I met the man who introduced me to the word, I was being pursued across the dance floor by a somewhat lecherous older man.  Gosh, he may have actually been in his late 20s or even mid-30s!  Little did I know “my hero” was standing at the approaching edge of the dance floor and stepped in between me and this guy, asking, “Is this gentleman bothering you?”  Being young, this had the same exact effect on me as if he’d been a knight in shining armor who had galloped up on a white steed.  He politely sent the man on his way and encouraged me and my girlfriend to stand there with him for a little while, just to be on the safe side.  He was lots closer to our tender age and told us he was with the band, so we stood and talked with him for a time and he was fascinating.

DSCN7559We would see each other whenever the band happened to be in town.  Mostly, we’d just have a snack somewhere after the evening’s gig, which my girlfriend and I always attended, take a drive or go to a movie on his night off.  I got to meet a lot of big band leaders and musicians of that era through this friendship.  And when new Marterie records were to be released, I’d always get an advance copy of them from my friend, mailed with a little note that was unfailingly signed with the word MIZPAH followed by his first name.

MIZPAH is from the Bible.  It is Genesis XXXI: 49 and it says “May the Lord watch between me and thee when we are absent one from another.  Isn’t that a lovely sentiment with which to sign a note, card or letter to someone who is simply a special friend?

He  had an older mentor from his home town who was also a musician in this band.  His name was Rudy and he played  tenor saxophone and would buy us lemonade during the breaks.  He became quite famous after he joined Bill Haley & The Comets.  Rudy continued to send two tickets to many, many concerts when they were in town.  At the first one, he introduced us to Bill Haley and the other Comet musicians and presented me with an album with his personal note written on the back. At later concerts, we got to meet other famous singers and musicians of that era who were also appearing.DSCN7556

Unfortunately, I only recently discovered that he, a non-smoker, contracted lung cancer in 1974 after an European tour and died on February 5, 1976 at the  age of 52.  Heaven gained a really rockin’ angel with a heart of gold and talent unlimited  He had remained with Bill Haley for 20 years and in 2012, my sweet and dear friend, Rudy, was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame post-humously.

I find it ironic how remembering where I first heard one particular word led me back to so many  dormant memories of good times with some truly wonderful people who were once in my life so long ago.  Of course, as we teens matured, we  took off in different careers and directions and these connections just got lost in the shuffle.   But I still love music and treasure such memories.

MIZPAH!

 

 

 

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Words and Music

  1. Peggy says:

    Great story!

  2. Thanks for sharing such special memories with us!

  3. mmgornell says:

    Jackie, I loved this story on several levels. Not just on the “down a lovely memory lane,” but also pointed out how words, things,places–can trigger memories, stories,…books even! Enjoyed very much.

    Madeline

    • jtzortman says:

      Madeline – I’m so happy that you liked it. I consider pleasing other writers, especially the ones I so admire, to be high praise. It makes my heart sing when I get comments such as yours. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Jackie, what a wonderful story about fantastic memories. You brought a smile to my face that lasted throughout your story. Thank you for sharing.
    George

    • jtzortman says:

      Hi George, As you know, yours is exactly the kind of comment that makes us keep on writing and blogging. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me. It made my day!

  5. Tim Dees says:

    I’m not sure what the connection is or was, but the Mizpah was also a very old hotel in downtown Reno for many years, until it burned down in the 1990s. It was probably a very fancy place in its day, but it was a flophouse by the time I moved to Reno in the late 1970s.

    • jtzortman says:

      That’s interesting about the old hotel. It is a rather strange word to connect with a hotel. The only guess I would have is that the people who stayed in it might have been apart people important to them while they stayed there. I think the Shriner’s also used that word on their hats, so maybe there’s more to it than the usage that is common today. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Myra Bonner says:

    Just read this- lovely story, wonderful memories

    • jtzortman says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, Myra. I can always count on certain people and you are one of them. I so appreciate your support. Love, RIP

Leave a Reply

