July 4th Surprise From Oak Tree Press

Many of you already know that my 21-year-old grandson, Pete, was killed four years ago in the wee hours of July 5th while celebrating July 4th with friends.  He fell backwards 100 feet off a Colorado mountain ledge to the canyon floor below and died instantly.  Sixteen months later, I started writing my book “We Are Different Now”.  I finished it in another fourteen months and it was published six months later.Pete 2009

Well, today, I received a wonderful letter from Suzi, the office manager at Oak Tree Press, my publisher.  She wanted me to know that she was thinking of me because of July 4th and  she had made my book the dedicated book of the week on the Oak Tree Press Blog, dedicating it to my grandson, Pete, in remembrance, because she never wants to forget him.  She extended condolences to my family and encouragement to remember the good times.

Words cannot possibly express how touching this totally unexpected “gift” is to me, so I thought I’d ask all of you to please read the Oak Tree Press blog at http://otpblog.blogspot.com.  Suzi wrote it herself, not me, and I am endlessly appreciative.

Thank you, Suzi, from the bottom of my heart.  Suzi was very much involved in getting my book to the attention of my publisher, Billie, and I immediately had a contract.  She’s been  an important part of this entire mission from the start.  I believe that angels walk among us.

Cover 3Cover 300x444

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book, Promo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 4th Surprise From Oak Tree Press

  1. I just caught myself up on your blogs, they are very interesting and I congratulate you on your book being named “book of the week” and very excited for you. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

