Think I’ve Found My Youngest Reader!

Cover 300x444Three years ago, when I finally sat down at my computer to begin writing my book  WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW, my original target audience was to be other grieving grandparents.  To my amazement (and delight), it became apparent  this book was of interest to people in all professions and of all ages, so I put no limitations on my potential readers. As the pre-orders of  my soon-to-be released book started arriving, I decided it was going to interest those from their late teens on up through grandparents and the elderly.   So, imagine my surprise to discover last week that my youngest reader is twelve years old.  And she asked her parents, if she could read it.  They tell me she is normally very picky about what she reads, but is enjoying my book at the present time.  She is a daughter of my chiropractor and his wife.  This young family suffered a horrible automobile accident two years ago this month with the entire family in the vehicle.  All of them were injured as they endured a multiple rollover on a highway.  As a result, they have a very unique situation to deal with and, oddly, the title of my book, which they didn’t know about,  has also been their personal motto since that dreadful day when they headed out with their camper for what was to have been a vacation and instead became a horrendous tragedy.  Today, they are all  mended physically, but just like grief, their father tells me that something will suddenly crop up in conversation about the accident from one of the children at the oddest times. and in unexpected places.  This family has a story of their own to tell that would be very interesting to read.

My oldest reader, that I am aware of, is a very spry and intelligent 86 and called to let me know how much he enjoyed the book.  He read it twice within a week and is now sending it on to his daughter in Florida, so she can read it, too.  He said that he cried all the way through it and, though he has adult  children, he has never had  grandchildren.

To read more about my book, click on the “about” button at the top of the page or visit my author’s page at:  http://www.facebook.com/jtzortman.author.2013. While you are there, click on the “like” button at the top below the cover photo of my grandson, Pete.

Pete & Book dec2013 015

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Book, Oak Tree Press, Promo, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Think I’ve Found My Youngest Reader!

  1. mmgornell says:

    Twelve to eight-six, you know you’re reaching and touching a broad spectrum. Good for you, Jackie!

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

