Flameout & Re-ignition

 

Forgive me.  I’ve neglected my writing and blog over the short time we get to call summer this year.  Oddly enough, there is an excuse for this.  I simply flamed out in exhaustion for a time.  With a foot of snow on the ground in mid-June, summer rolled into these mountains late.  The result is we have to pack it all into two months.

Pete's GraveJuly turned into a whirlwind of obligations and fun.  We had three birthdays, July 4th with all of the hoopla, festivities and BBQ, the fourth angelversary of our grandson’s death, followed a week later by a funeral to bury his ashes.

DSCN7786Then hubby had cataract surgery and we had out-of-town guests stay with us that I hadn’t seen in 33 years.  But we had a blast together and we hope they’ll come back and do it again.

In addition to all of that, we sprinkled in 11 various appointments with sometimes three of them in one day.  In the midst of it, I did win three awards at the Public Safety Writers Conference Writing Competition on July 12th in Las Vegas.  My  novel manuscript for “Footprints In The Frost” took first place in the Fiction Non-Published category.  To round out July, we had to make a day trip out of town to buy my husband’s birthday gift.

After that, we spent the last three days of the month tending to the upcoming trial of the defendant for his felony DSCN7855criminal trespass into our home last April.  One day we had to confer with the District Attorney about what to say/not say when questioned by the defendant’s attorney.  That was for me because Richard has 42 years of courtroom experience and is comfortable there.  The next day  involved a visit to view our property and home by the defendant’s three  attorneys from the Public Defender’s office.  The trial was to be the following day. By then, my stomach was a ball of knots and I hadn’t slept in weeks for a myriad of reasons, including the trial. But we escaped the courtroom  when the defendant pled guilty  on the 29th and we accepted his offer.

It all boiled down to the fact that we only had six days out of 31  on our own.  August turned out to be  much the same chaotic way and I found myself frazzled with exhaustion and still needing to carry on.  Blogs and writing were forced to wait. But the days and nights have turned cooler, school started here today, the bucks are wearing velvet antlers  and that tells me that fall is heading in.

RSCN7867

The good news is that I have reignited again and am working on getting my next book (publisher willing) ready to go.  This one is fiction and is my detective novel with a bit of romance thrown in to keep it interesting.

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you’ll leave a comment to let me know that you were here.

 

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in books, Colorado, fall, grief, Jackie Taylor Zortman, Oak Tree Press, Sharing, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Flameout & Re-ignition

  1. Jackie,
    Congratulations on the PSWA Award!. Your summer sounds like a good one and action packed. I can tell you that many of us (at least you and I) are guilty of sliding down that slope of writer’s failure to put pencil to paper. Now that summer is ending, we’ll all get back to a thousand or so words I day. At least I hope so.
    Take Care & Be Safe
    George

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you for making me feel less guilty, George. I have actually been working full-time the last two days. It’s not easy playing catch-up after a lazy spell, as you know. Thanks for the congrats and for stopping by.

  2. Peggy says:

    Congratulations! Now let fall be less chaotic!

  3. carmen morantine says:

    Wow Jackie.

  4. Summer is never long enough. Glad things are calming a little for you! Our bucks have antlers now, but no velvet yet.

    • jtzortman says:

      Our summer is going to be especially short this year. Fall is already in the air at this altitude. Things haven’t yet calmed down, but I’m hopeful. Maybe in September. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  5. John M. Wills says:

    Such a busy woman, yet despite it all very successful. Keep up the good work!

    • jtzortman says:

      Thanks, John. You are one of the other authors that I can always count on to be supportive, which I really appreciate. When I grow up, I want to be an author like you. 🙂

  6. John Wilkinson says:

    Jackie,
    Not sure how you have enough time to put your shoes on in the mornings!

    • jtzortman says:

      Honestly, John, there are days when I question that myself. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know you stopped by. I appreciate your support that I can always count on.

Leave a Reply

