December Suddenly Emerges and Me, Too!

Whoa!  Suddenly it is December and I’m running a month behind, due to my husband’s heart attack on October 31st .  I can personally tell you that will put a crimp in any writing you have to do or most anything else.  Normal life goes on hold and you just cope through a fog of complete stress and exhaustion, being grateful the entire time that he was so very lucky not to have suffered permanent damage to his heart…or worse.

Watching the tree decoration.

Watching me decorate the tree.

Since he can’t do anything strenuous yet, it was up to me to get out and buy a four foot pre-lit tree and pray that the shoe boxes filled with special ornaments  I opted to keep inside the warm house last Christmas would be enough.  Luckily, it worked.  As I was busy improvising the whole theme of how our decorations were going to be this year, I was joined by a doe deer and her spring baby.  The doe was absolutely fascinated by my tree shenanigans and  kept a close eye on me as I went about the business of putting ornaments on the tiny tree.  We had just had a foot of snow, so it did make things seem especially seasonal, even though it didn’t feel much like it with all of the events  we’d just experienced.

By dark, our Siamese cat was sitting in the window intently gazing at something outside that seemed to be of great interest to him.  It turned out to be a resident raccoon that shows up every night to shyly feast on any stray birdseed that has been knocked to the ground from the bird feeders. DSCN8413 The picture on the left was taken through the triple paned window and isn’t very clear, but she’s the dark blob that appears at the bottom of the stairs in the middle of the picture.  She had about four little babies in the spring and I don’t know where they disappear to in the winter, but she’s always alone and if she even thinks we are looking at her, she will run away and hide.

All of this took place a day or two before Thanksgiving, but now the Christmas season is in full swing and I find myself, after a horrific month of fear and caring for a very sick man, emerging again, just like December always does.  It feels really good to slowly begin to return to a changed, but normal life again.  I wonder how many times we’ve learned to cope with “new  normal”after a major life event happens.  I plan to be more attentive to my writing career now (new book coming in June 2015) and to try not to neglect my blog for such a long time.  I’ll do my best.  Thanks for stopping by.  Let me know you did.

Night snow on the deck.

Snow at night on the front deck.

 

 

 

 

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in accidents, blogs, elderly readers, Jackie Taylor Zortman, Oak Tree Press, wild animals. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to December Suddenly Emerges and Me, Too!

  1. mmgornell says:

    Jackie, I love seeing all your animals and pictures–though I must say all that snow gives this old Chicago native the shivers! Beautiful where you live. You certainly have your hands-full, but I have come to think of you as very resourceful and strong! All the best to you and your hubby and family over the Christmas season.

    Madeline

  2. jtzortman says:

    Thank you, Madeline. I didn’t realize that you were from Chicago. What a difference you moved to and I know you absolutely love the desert. Hope you also have a fabulous Christmas season.

  3. Peggy says:

    Loving the addition of pictures! I’ve always thought you were a good photographer. Good to be moving back towards normal, or the “new” normal.

  4. jtzortman says:

    Thanks, Pegs. Yes, it’s always good to feel like you are, at least, heading back in the right direction. We had a horribly busy day today, so we’re gonna need lots of time to catch up when the chaos ends. 🙂

  5. Olivia Milton says:

    As always your blog is a joy to read and usually includes great pictures…..I’m sitting here this morning thinking that it sure looks cold in Ouray…as I am drinking a hot cup of jo and enjoying fresh from the oven cinammon rolls….notice I said rolls, as in “I’ve had more than one so far” !!!!
    Love you…Of

  6. Olivia Milton says:

    Just enjoyed re-reading your blog…..am dog tired tonight. Feet up, hand on ice/heat pack as it is bugging me like crazy for last few days! Good cup of hot Jo to keep me and Kirby company!!!

Leave a Reply

