Super Bowl Ad Turns Personal

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

The setting for my book “We Are Different Now” appeared in the Kia Sorento ad, featuring Pierce Brosnan, during the 2015 Super Bowl.  When the ad gets to the driving in the snow scenes, the first shots are right at the exact place where my grandson, Pete, fell to his death at the age of 21 and became the inspiration for me to write my book.  The same spot appears again when he is driving towards the mountain cabin and you see a small avalanche to the right of the screen.

Even though this spectacular  place holds a lot of sadness for me, it is incredibly beautiful at any time of the year.  Since this ad was shot from the air, it gives an astounding perspective that we could never capture with our feet planted firmly on the ground.  I so wanted to include a still shot someone took from the ad in this article, but I realize that Kia, Pierce Brosnan and the Lord knows who else, own the copyright and I’m not about to infringe upon it.  You can find the ad on YouTube by searching for the Kia Sorento Super Bowl Ad Featuring Pierce Brosnan.  It’s worth the peek.

I know that Pete would have one of his beautiful smiles on his face to know that his DSCN8350memorial site made the 2015 Super Bowl ads.  That fact might just be a little nudge to think of him and remember his love of football.

Thanks for stopping by at my blog and I hope you’ll let me know that you were here.

 

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Super Bowl Ad Turns Personal

  1. amymbennett says:

    Jackie, thanks for sharing. I’m going to go watch that ad right now and say a little prayer for Pete and for you.

  2. Having recently been to the spot via your book, I see it clearly in the ad. Breathtaking. A fine tribute to Pete’s love of football!

    • jtzortman says:

      I’m so glad you could see it so clearly, Nancy. It’s funny how these things suddenly come out of nowhere. I’m sure you are learning this now, as well. Thanks so much for checking the ad out and dropping a note here.
      Jackie

  3. Myra Bonner says:

    Looked at the video and, with all of the snow, it truly IS breathtaking! Seasonal changes make all views look so different. Nice to see Pete’s Place softened by the whiteness of the snow. Thanks for sharing this special place with all of us❤️

  4. Olivia Milton says:

    After you sent me the e about the ad, I searched for it and it IS absolutely beautiful from the air! How strange that things like this just come out of left field so unexpectedly….Bless you so many times over for having the courage and ability to have written such a beautiful tribute to your eldest Grandson…..He has to be smiling…….Love you forever

    • jtzortman says:

      Olivia – I can always count on you to read whatever I write and I so appreciate that. I’m glad you saw the ad and can see how gorgeous it is up there right now. Yes, it is strange how some things just suddenly crop up and some of us can see a sign in them. Love you, too, my dear friend.

  5. Tion says:

    Hi Aunt Jackie,

    How are you these days? I had to reply to your email because I remember seeing the commercial and thinking that looks like where Pete had his accident. The thought passed until I read your email. Knowing that it was is touching to me as it triggered a memory of Pete, even though him and I never met I know we would have had fun together.

    I hope everything is okay. We’re buried in almost 4 feet of snow with more on the way 😢

    Love, Ashton

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • jtzortman says:

      Hi Aston – We’re doing fine. You’ve all been on my mind because of that awful storm you’ve been having. I’m glad to know you are okay. How is your Dad doing and also Mary? I think of them so often. I hope you have good news for them. Dottie called me when she got home from there to tell me about Wayne, but that’s been awhile. Oh, you and Pete would have been close cousins. I’m so sorry that you never got to know the great young man he was and vice versa. Yes, you would have had great fun together. Stay safe in all of that snow. That has to be a chore with 4 feet to dig out from.

      Love,
      Aunt Jackie

  6. Peggy says:

    I think your angel is smiling down. He would enjoy knowing his place was part of a Super Bowl commercial. The air view is very different.

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, the air view is very different from regular photos, but it still doesn’t do it justice. I was bowled over to learn that the ad had been filmed here. A friend of ours housed the crew when they were filming it. She owns a motel. We’ve known her since she was a kid and she’s more Barb’s age or even a little younger. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Barbara Cummins Shepperson says:

    I thought when I saw the ad that it was similar to Pete’ spot. I’ll have to check it out and get a closer look. I’m sure Pete was smiling on everyone when it came on.

  8. Carol Keller says:

    I reconigized Pete’s Place right away and kuddos to you for the great article.

  9. marilynm says:

    Wow, that is truly amazing and quite a memorial to your grandson.

  10. joann299 says:

    So sad, yet inspiring.

  11. jtzortman says:

    Thank you, Marilyn. It’s an awesome spot in all seasons, as I said in my post. Just never thought we’d see it in a Super Bowl ad.

Leave a Reply

