THE RED DOOR

Years ago, when I was caught up in Feng Shui , I painted the doors at the front of our house in a color called Tractor Red.  Legend says red exterior doors are auspicious. Over the years, I failed to notice how faded the red had become.

A young man in his mid-30s was hired to help with a seven-week remodel of the entire south wall of our house, inside and out.  We have come to DSCN9073know him well and he not only has a tremendous work ethic, but an admirable family ethic and he is blessed with a tremendous personality. Never before have I seen anyone paint an entire wall or door without using masking tape and not get paint where it shouldn’t be. I have now.  He  volunteered to do  things that we hadn’t included in our remodel.  For example, out of the blue, he asked if it would be okay to put a fresh coat of paint on my beloved red door.  What an amazing transformation that made of not just the door, but the entire room!  It makes my heart sing, which is the whole purpose of a red door in the first place.  And it must have restored the positive chi the red color is supposed to bring.  What makes me say that?

First of all, take a gander at the beautiful picture at the top of my page.  My 21-year-old granddaughter, Taylor, took that picture with her cell phone while on a fun FSCN9088outing on a Jeep trail a few days ago.    It shows what it looks like when all you see are the tops of these gorgeous mountains from a very high altitude vantage point.  It isn’t normally as green as Ireland up there, but we’ve had an unusual amount of rain this year.  All I had to do was ask and she was thrilled to have me use it for my blog header.  That probably sounds like a simple gesture, but it’s something I’ve been struggling with for quite some time now.  I think it is perfect.

Another young man in his early 40s works in a store in an adjacent town, but lives here and often calls or stops by just to visit with us. He recently made a joke about being able to have done our house repair for half the price.  He was just kidding because that isn’t what he knows how to do.  But we did have another pressing job and  he was perfect for it.  We needed a large pine tree in our yard cut down after it suddenly died from beetle infestation.  He said he’d be here after work at 3:30 on Monday and he was right on time.  He worked hard cutting the big tree down, sawing it into the right length for our woodstove, stacking the wood up, cleaning up his mess and piling the excess to the side.  At 7:00, he simply said, “Adios!”  My husband told him to wait because we needed to pay DSCN9071him and asked how much we owed.  His  answer was, “I don’t want a dime for doing that.  I’m just happy I could help.  Have me over for dinner some night.”  With that, he drove off.  We stood there stunned because this young man works hard and can always use extra money.  We certainly didn’t expect him to do that big job for nothing.

My point in writing this is due to all of the horrendous news we see and read daily about the craziness in our world that seems to be escalating into dangerous proportions and more often than not, includes some young person at the helm of destruction.  I suppose God  wanted to reassure us that the youth of today are actually loving and caring people, the same as we were back in the more innocent 50s and 60s, so he gave us these three perfect illustrations.  I remember that fact each and every time I look at my beautiful red door now and  think of these three outstanding young people, in their 20s, 30s and 40s, who again restored my faith in humanity.

FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST is available as both a trade paperback and Kindle on http://www.Amazon.com and as a trade paperback from http://www.shopOTPbooks.com.  Local bookstores can order it from Ingram for you or you can buy it directly from the author at PO Box 173; Ouray, CO 81427 for $15.75 (includes media mailing cost).

(Thanks for stopping by and hope you’ll leave a comment to let me know you did.)

 

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in blogs, Colorado, elderly readers, Jackie Taylor Zortman, Sharing, Writing, young people today, young readers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THE RED DOOR

  1. Olivia Milton says:

    Very good! It is the little acts (in your case at least one very big) of kindness that restore our faith! How lucky are you!!?

  2. Dave Keller says:

    What great comments: as I’ve heard one receives what one gives. Knowing you for a few years you are deserving of kindness.

  3. vweisfeld.com says:

    Loved the story of the red door and agree the photo your granddaughter took is perfect for the header of your blog. I like that the white Jeep is in it–adds a little mystery. Whose Jeep is that? and what are they doing up here at the top of the world!? Evocative.

    • jtzortman says:

      You either are a writer or you think like one. Thanks for the lovely comments on my Red Door blog.

      Jackie

      • vweisfeld.com says:

        Yes, I’m a fellow member of PSWA and a writer of mysteries and thrillers myself. Very perceptive! Happy to follow your interesting blog.

  4. jtzortman says:

    Well, it’s always nice to meet a fellow writer from PSWA, so thanks for stopping by and introducing yourself. I’m sure we’ll see lots more of one another.

Leave a Reply

