NOPE, IT AIN’T ABOUT MONEY

????????????????The road from sitting down to write a book and finally holding it in your hot little hand is  long with lots of peaks and valleys to conquer.  My book was released on June 15th, but it took a long time to get the final cover up on Amazon.com, due to the fact that we first had  Advanced Reader’s Editions.  Then, for whatever reason, the paperback and Kindle editions listed separately and stated that each was the only edition available.  In addition, the reviews only showed with the paperback.  However, yesterday, we finally got them linked together, which felt like GOAL!  Today when I checked to make sure the link works, I discovered yet another 5-star review had been added!  So, at last, everything seems to be up and working perfectly.  As authors, our books are our babies and we fret and sweat until everything about them is cool.

http://www.amazon.com/Footprints-Frost-Jackie-Taylor-Zortman-ebook/dp/B011APUJKE/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1441469391&sr=1-1&keywords=footprints+in+the+frost+by+jackie+taylor+Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

As another little added bonus, I received a package from the Public Safety Writers Association yesterday that contained a super nice tote bag celebrating the 10-year anniversary of same.  I am one of the charter members, which means I was a member of the original Police Writers Club (back in the 90s) and just slid right on over when it evolved into PSWA in 2005 and remain a member in good standing. This organization is chocked full of other writers and authors who will help you with any question you might have and they never compete and always applaud the accomplishments of their fellow members.  I’m very proud to have been among them for the last 20 years.

PSWA Member graphic[1]

So, as my title says, being a writer/author isn’t about money (which so many folks believe it is) because there’s not a lot of it involved, unless you are one of the “big dogs” that we do sometimes get to run with.  It’s about the great organizations we get to work with and the people we grow to love as our buddies and special friends.  That’s worth it all and that, my friends, is what it’s really about.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Authors, blogs, Book, Dark Oak Mystery, FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST, Jackie Taylor Zortman, Law enforcement, Oak Tree Press, Public Safety Writers Association, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NOPE, IT AIN’T ABOUT MONEY

  1. marilynm says:

    You are so right about the money–I’ve made so little sometimes I wonder why I keep writing. However, if I didn’t, not sure what else I would do.

  2. mmgornell says:

    Agree with Marilyn, not sure what else I would do? Like writing too much… Glad you’re up and running with your books, I soooo enjoyed Footprints in the Frost. Your “baby” is doing well! Continued success, Jackie.

  3. Barbara Shepperson says:

    I’m so glad you hung in there and finished “Footprints” because I, like lots of others, thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Sami and Max.

  4. John M. Wills says:

    Writers “have to” write, they’re driven not by money but by an inexplicable urge to share themselves with the world.

  5. So true. The readers, and personal connections made, are the greatest reward of all! Jackie is truly one of my dearest connections 🙂

    • jtzortman says:

      Seems like my fellow authors all agree with my thoughts expressed here. Thanks for stopping by, Nancy. Let me return the compliment that you are one of my dearest connections, as well.

Leave a Reply

