A VALENTINE LOVE LETTER by Barb Kent


My guest writer today is Barb Kent who is a budding writer that is very close to bursting into bloom.  It won’t be long until she’ll be writing on her own blog or have a book out there for all of us to read.  Enjoy her Valentine’s Day prose.

A VALENTINE LOVE LETTER (and apology) TO: ME  – FROM: ME

by Barb Kent

You and I have been together for as long as I can remember.  I have not given you the love you deserve and I am sincerely sorry. Life hasn’t always been kind to you and I have not been there for you. I have pointed out every flaw I can find, and tormented you with every failure.

I have repeated relentlessly every unkind thing ever spoken to you and not let you forget the wrongs you’ve done. I’ve watched you cry and made you stop, when I should’ve held you. When you have faced difficult times, I didn’t have your back. I didn’t stand up for you when you were betrayed and I didn’t celebrate those small victories. Instead I kept insisting that you needed to fix your faults because you weren’t worthy.

I made you carry so much baggage that was never yours to bear. I shamed you when everyone walked out on you and told you, if you were better, they would’ve stayed. I did not allow you to trust yourself. For all of this, I ask your forgiveness. I pledge to you my love and respect. I am the one who should never let you down. When you feel there is no hope, it is my voice who should be whispering that there is ALWAYS hope because you are alive!

It is I who should be the voice of your truth, no matter how ridiculous anyone believes it to be. It is I who should believe in you and honor you and backed you up no matter what! Because, in all honesty, I am in awe of you. Of that spark of greatness that you never allow to go out. Of your amazing heart, your courage, and belief in a beautiful world. Of your efforts in fighting my negative voice, you deserve my love and admiration.

It is so much easier when we are on the same team and no one else can give this to you but me. I apologize for letting you down, I won’t ever turn my back on you again. I love you! Love, Me. 


Happy Valentine’s Day My Lovelies! Isn’t it time you wrote a love letter to yourself?

 

Barb Kent

Barb Kent

Barb Kent was born and grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio, moving to Colorado in 1982.  She is the mother of two adult sons, one of whom she lost in a mountain accident in 2010.  A former personal trainer, she is an avid reader, talented writer and loves nothing more than the mountains where she lives.  She spends as much time as possible outdoors hiking, snow-shoeing, skiing, or running and gardening in the warmer months.  Her closest buddy is her beloved rescue dog, Bella,who is always at her side.  She is married and lives with her husband, dog Bella, and rescue cat, Dollie.  In her spare time, she loves nothing more than chocolate and a good book.

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Authors, blogs, Book, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A VALENTINE LOVE LETTER by Barb Kent

  1. Carol Keller says:

    Wonderful writing and good information and guidance for all of us. Congratulations, Barb.
    We all tend to be too hard on ourselves and our self expectations are usually more than we are able to give.

  2. jtzortman says:

    Thank you, Carol. I forwarded this on to Barb. She’s certainly blossoming in the writing department.

  3. Love this. Yes, we sure do need backup in our efforts to fight the negative voice, should all be gentler with ourselves.

    • jtzortman says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Nancy. I can always count on you. I know you’ve been out-of-town on a fabulous Valetine’s Day gift from your husband, so welcome back.

Leave a Reply

