Hey! I’m a Character in a Book!

My fellow Oak Tree Press author, Marilyn Meredith, who also writes as F. M. Meredith, did a recent blog tour for one of her latest books and I won a contest for following her all the way.  As a winner, she made me a character in her newest release A CRUSHING DEATH.

A Crushing Death RightI can now tell you it’s both fun and kind of weird to read your name as a character in a book.  But I’m also thankful she didn’t make me a villain or, as we authors often threaten those who become irritants, kill me off. She also de-aged me by making me a teenager.

In addition, the book immediately caught me up in its intrigue and regular characters that have become like family. She introduces both a rather unusual church and an obscure and cruel manner of murder.  I love reading books like this one.  You know, the kind you can’t wait to get back to and hate to see end.

Marilyn is one of those gifted authors who can write two different series of books and pumps two books a year out faithfully.  I’m not certain exactly how many books she now has written, but I’m guessing around 35…maybe more.

A CRUSHING DEATH is published by Oak Tree Press as a Dark Oak Mystery and is an excellent read.  I’m truly not saying that simply because I am in it, but because it is a book that I know you will enjoy. Marilyn will be a guest on my blog on May 5th to tell you more about it.

You can find it as both a trade paperback or Kindle at: http://www.amazon.com/Crushing-Death-Rocky-Bluff-P-D/dp/1610092260/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457618775&sr=8-1&keywords=A+Crushing+Death+by+F.M.+Meredith

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

While I’m bragging about books, here are mine that you will also like:

CF with PSWA - Footprints in the Frost

Cover 300x444

Both books are available as trade paperback  and Kindle  on Amazon.com and Nook and trade paperback at BarnesandNoble.com.  Trade paperback also available from ShopOTPBooks.com. Signed copies available from the author. 

FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST  can also be purchased at All Romance eBooks at: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-footprintsinthefrost-1990300-152.html OR Apple’s iBooks  at:  https://itun.es/us/_-X0ab.l

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hey! I’m a Character in a Book!

  1. marilynm says:

    Of course I loved this blog post. It is always hard to decide when using a real person’s name what kind of character he/she should be. Usually I want that character not to be around for the next book, but it is likely my Jackie Zortman just might make another appearance in a future book.

  2. How fun to get to be a teenager among Marilyn’s characters! Lucky you, Jackie. I look forward to reading it.

  3. mmgornell says:

    I bet it is weird, seeing your name as a character! I haven’t read Marilyn’s latest yet, but I’ll be looking for you!!!

Leave a Reply

