BE A WRITER/AUTHOR, IT WILL BE FUN!

Personally, I have a suspicion that everybody secretly looks at published authors and thinks to themselves, “Big deal.  I could write a book, too.” You know what? They probably can because writing a book is comparatively easy. After your book is finished and a publisher accepts your manuscript is when you quickly learn the tremendous amount of work it takes to get and keep that book out there on the market.  In addition, that work will blossom, grow and continue DSCN9678as long as the length of your contract. But getting my books accepted by a publisher gave me such a huge Rocky Mountain High  it made all the long months or years of writing worth it. I live and write in the Colorado mountains and no, I don’t use the state’s infamous legalized marijuana. I signed on with Oak Tree Press back in November 2012 and have learned things I never imagined were involved in book publishing.  Books are a business, just like any other venture into the field of creative arts, which means there’s work to be done.

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman and husband, Richard.

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman and husband, Richard.

My first book WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW, which is non-fiction, took me about 16 months to write.  However, my current book FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST took me  3 1/2  years!  I originally wrote it in the late 90s , then put it aside and forgot about it.  One day I came across that old manuscript, read it one more time and decided it might actually have potential.  I rewrote it to make it jive with life as it is today and submitted it to the Public Safety Writers Association’s Writing Competition with the intention that if it bombed there, it was going into the trash.  Imagine my surprise when it won First Place in the Fiction Book Non-Published category.

Amazingly, writers and authors are not jealous, competitive people and they’ll always applaud your success, helping in any way they can.   I have gained so many friends and business acquaintances  I would have never  met outside this circle of gifted people  and many have become near and dear to me. Even though most people assume otherwise, unless you run with the big dogs like Stephen King or Patricia Cornwell,  it’s not a lucrative business.  But it’s usually fun, perhaps because we are all considered to be a tad weird, albeit wonderful.  In spite of the tremendous amount of work involved,  if I could go back to the beginning and do things over again, I wouldn’t change a thing.  Write on, all you budding authors!

CF with PSWA - Footprints in the Frost

Cover 300x444

Both books are available as trade paperback  and Kindle  on Amazon.com and Nook and trade paperback at BarnesandNoble.com. 

FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST  can also be purchased at All Romance eBooks at: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-footprintsinthefrost-1990300-152.html OR Apple’s iBooks  at:  https://itun.es/us/_-X0ab.l

 

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Authors, blogs, books, Colorado, FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST, Jackie Taylor Zortman, Oak Tree Press, Public Safety Writers Association, WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BE A WRITER/AUTHOR, IT WILL BE FUN!

  1. Not everyone has the perseverance to finish a book, let alone market it. That’s where the real work comes in–but it can be fun, too. Writers are among the most friendly people you’d ever want to meet. Enjoyed the read, JT.

  2. John M. Wills says:

    I hear that comment, “I could write a book,” all the time. My response, “Why aren’t you writing, then?” The answer–it takes time, talent, and perseverance.

    • jtzortman says:

      Love your answer to those who say they could write a book. I’ll have to use that one next time I have an opportunity. Do you also get that dead silence response when you mention one of your books? I don’t understand that, either. One of my neighbors just turned completely around like she didn’t hear what I’d said. Strange reactions.

  3. So proud to be one of the “weird” and loving knowing the friendliest most supportive people, authors. Write on, Jackie!

Leave a Reply

