F. M. MEREDITH IS MY GUEST TODAY

Today I am honored to have as my guest the prolific writer, F. M. Meredith, who also writes as Marilyn Meredith.  She is soon to have her 40th book out and is one of the busiest authors I’ve ever known with energy that puts the rest of us to shame.  Today she will tell you about her latest book in one of her two series, called A CRUSHING DEATH.

Meet Marilyn!

Author F. M. Meredith a.k.a. Marilyn Meredith

Author F. M. Meredith a.k.a. Marilyn Meredith

Jackie Taylor Zortman is a Character in A Crushing Death 

My host for today, Jackie Taylor Zortman, won a contest like the one I’mrunning for this blog tour to have a character named after her.

When I start the next book, I seldom have any idea which character the prize winner’s name will be given to. I have never made the winner a murderer or a murder victim. (I might if someone asked me to do that.) What I do try for is that the character probably won’t make an appearance in another book.

In this particular book, Detective Doug Milligan’s daughter Beth has a big problem and it’s concerning her best friend, Jackie Zortman. This means Jackie has become a teenager and no longer has the Taylor attached to her name.

Jackie’s parents don’t like it because their daughter is friends with a policeman’s daughter. They ban Jackie from hanging out with Beth. The question is, what is the problem? Is Jackie’s father doing something illegal? Does he have something in his past he doesn’t want anyone to know about?

This is a bit ironic since the real Jackie—Jackie Taylor Zortman’s husband is a retired law enforcement officer.

Jackie and I are both published by Oak Tree Press, and I’ve been her online friend for a long time. It was fun naming a character after her.

Marilyn aka F. M. Meredith

Marilyn’s Latest Book

A Crushing Death Right

A Crushing Death

A pile of rocks is found on a dead body beneath the condemned pier, a teacher is accused of molesting a student, the new police chief is threatened by someone she once arrested for violent attacks on women, and Detective Milligan’s teenage daughter has problem.

Marilyn’s Bio:

F. M. Meredith who is also known as Marilyn Meredith is nearing the numberof 40 published books. Besides being an author she is a wife, mother , grandma and great-grandmother. Though the Rocky Bluff she writes about is fictional, she lived for over twenty-years in a similar small beach town. Besides having many law enforcement officers in her family she  counts many as friends. She teaches writing, loves to give presentations to writing and other groups, and is a member of Mystery Writers of America, three chapters of Sisters in Crime and on the board of Public Safety Writers Association.

Marilyn’s Links:

Website: http://fictionforyou.com

Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com

Facebook: Marilyn Meredith

Twitter: MarilynMeredith

Marilyn’s Latest Contest:  Once again, the person who comments on the most blogs during this tour, can have a character named after them in the next Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery. Tomorrow you can find me here:

http://anastasiapollock.blogspot.com/

You can buy A CRUSHING DEATH at: http://www.amazon.com/Crushing-Death-Rocky-Bluff-P-D/dp/1610092260/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457618775&sr=8-1&keywords=A+Crushing+Death+by+F.M.+Meredith

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in A CRUSHING DEATH, Author, Book, Crime, Dark Oak Mystery, F.M. Meredith a.k.a. Marilyn Meredith, Jackie Taylor Zortman. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to F. M. MEREDITH IS MY GUEST TODAY

  1. marilynm says:

    Thank you so much Jackie, for hosting me today. And of course there’s a big boo boo in it, golly sometimes I don’t know how I let such things past me. I ought to give a prize to the person who finds the most mistakes in my post.

    • jtzortman says:

      It’s always my pleasure to host someone, especially someone with your experience and talent, Marilyn. No boo-boo in there anymore. You caught it. I didn’t even notice it when I originally read it myself.

  2. Forty books, I can’t imagine! So fun to follow Marilyn’s characters, especially when one gets named after another favorite writer 🙂

  3. Susan Tuttle says:

    Second time doing this… it would’t let me log in for some reason, had to reset my password, then I lost what I wrote before… grrr… sometimes technology makes me want to kill someone… oh, wait, I already do that!! LOL

    Anyway, what I said before is I love naming characters after people I know (with permission, of course). Once, a young lady who works at my local grocery bemoaned the fact that she’d never read her name in a story or book, so I promised to name a character in my next Skylark story after her. (It’s a short story included in the upcoming SinC anthology, “Deadlines: Murder and Mayhem on the California Coast” –look for it in late June, early July!) I was having a great time with the character until the villain intervened. Next time I saw Kayla, I said, “Wow, you sure look good for a dead woman.” Her eyes got big. “I can’t believe you killed me!” she said. “Where are the cops when you need them?” We’ve had a lot of laughs over her “paper fate”…

    Having a character named after you is like getting instant immortality. What fun! And what a great post again today, Marilyn.

  4. marilynm says:

    Hi, Susan. I’ve never had a character named after me, but I’ve used a lot of real people’s names when they’ve won the contest like the one I’m running now. I do have one friend who wanted to be in my Tempe books–I didn’t use her name but enough of her personality, her dogs, and her unique quirks that all of her friends knew who she was.

  5. Well Marilyn, I pushing to be your next character, but I think I’s like to be a bad guy. The bad guy’s sometimes have the best parts, Hannibal Lecter or Alan Rickman’s role in Die Hard. Plus, I think it would be great honor to be in one of your books. Of course it’s your choice. By the way, Happy Mother’s Day.

  6. Maggie King says:

    I’d love to have a character named after me. I might, I just MIGHT, like to be the killer! 😉

  7. marilynm says:

    Hi, Maggie, I think being the bad guy would be fun too. Of course when writing the characters, the author is inside the head of the bad guy, or at least knows his or her motivations.

Leave a Reply

