HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE?

Grandson Pete

Grandson Pete

Those of you who are familiar with my non-fiction book WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW know it’s about my journey through grief after the death of my 21-year-old grandson.  He fell 100 feet from a Colorado mountain ledge to the canyon floor below where he died instantly from a skull fracture.  This happened in the pitch black of night in the wee hours of his mother’s birthday on July 5, 2010.  You also know that since then, I am convinced that we really do get signs from those who’ve transitioned to the other side.

My dear friend, Marilyn, whom I talked to several times a day for 17 years, even though she lived in Sacramento and I’m in Colorado, left for heaven on May 7, 2014.  During our conversations, we promised that whoever went first would send the other signs that they were there.  I waited a long time and then had a talk with Marilyn, telling her I’d had no signs yet.  The next morning, two doves were sitting in a tree beside our deck.  We’ve never had doves where I’ve  lived for 35 years, but we’ve had them since then.

My Eurasion Ringneck Dove

My Eurasion Ringneck Dove

This month (the two-year angelversary of her death), one dove has been coming to the glider in front of our big picture window and sitting on the back, gazing at me inside.  Doves are normally pretty skitzy and leave if they even see movement. Marilyn used to visit us for a week, several times a year, and she loved to sit on that couch to watch the wildlife that crosses our deck and enjoy the view of the mountains.

Yesterday, I came outside from an appointment in another town where my husband was waiting in our car.  As I opened my passenger door, there was a fluffy feather on the ground.  I believe such feathers are a communication and always pick them up, which I did.  Then I noticed it had some dry mud on it, so tossed it back out onto the ground and we drove off.

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

We made a few other stops, went to the grocery store (which takes forever) and exhausted, I told my husband we needed to load the groceries and have lunch somewhere.  I got in the car and imagine my surprise when I went to close the door and found that muddy, fluffy little feather lying there on the armrest of the door I’d opened and closed so many times since I tossed it back outside the car.  I’d even opened it and left it open because it’s hot at the lower altitude where we shop.  In addition, it was a super windy day.  This cemented my belief that “someone” is trying to tell me they are close right now. I suspect it is Marilyn.

Another thing that happened close to the date of her death this year is that I turned our bedroom television off when we went to bed and  am positive it was completely off and the screen was dark.  At 2:00 a.m., our cat was frantically trying to wake me up.  I figured he was just aggravating me, but decided to get up and make that long, dreadful  trip to the loo while I was awake.  When I came back, the whole room was lit up like from a powerful night light.  The television screen was glowing brightly and causing this – no picture, no sound, just this brilliant phantom light.  It gave me chills as I turned it off and got back in bed.

By now, you are probably convinced that I’m truly “out there” and a tad wacky, but I really believe in spiritual communications.  Pete’s death drove this home like nothing else could. I’ve been missing Marilyn quite a bit lately, probably due to the anniversary of her death and the fact that her birthday is May 30th.  Of course, I miss Pete every single day.  If you’d like to learn more about my beliefs regarding spiritual communications, you can always check out my book WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW.

Cover 300x444

Available at Amazon.com as a Kindle and paperback at: http://www.amazon.com/Are-Different-Jackie-Taylor-Zortman/dp/1610090632?ie=UTF8&qid=1464119006&ref_=tmm_pap_swatch_0&sr=1-1.

While you are at Amazon, check out my Amazon Author’s Page at: http://www.amazon.com/Jackie-Taylor-Zortman/e/B00D5UTMJC/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Find my books at Barnes & Noble as both a Nook and paperback.  Go to: http://www.bn.com and search for the title under paperbacks or Nook books.

OTP_logo

About jtzortman

The author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning fiction novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST", I am also a contributing author in the anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". I've had numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. I am a Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. I have won 9 writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat and when deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in family, Friendship, grief, Jackie Taylor Zortman, spirituality. writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE?

  1. shalanna says:

    Jackie! I know that to those who have so far had no such experiences, we may sound like woo-woo nutties. But you are correct in saying that there is a bridge between the living and the dead, and that they can send us signs (in a limited fashion, because as Scripture warns, we must not go to seers or sorcerers or such people to try to bridge the gap.) When my favorite aunt died, she was quiet for a short time, but then she started leaving me Roosevelt dimes. This is a traditional sign of communication from across the Veil. She was letting me know that she heard my cries of despair over Mama’s dementia and our lack of ability to get her wisdom any more. Mama passed away the day after Christmas 2015, and did not send me signs right away, but then a few weeks ago I got a cardinal sighting out the kitchen window, the same place we had one years before from another family member. I was convinced Mama was angry with me over the way I failed in taking care of her and was really depressed. Then on the way to my piano recital a couple of weekends ago, I turned the radio on as I drove there, and put it on the KNTU jazz station, which I *never* do. There was a live broadcast of a jazz festival from University of North Texas. But the wild part is that they were on the last song of a set, and said they would improvise, not announcing a song title. I became aware of what the song was–the one-hit wonder from my childhood, “Ode to Billy Joe.” Well . . . you’d never expect that in a Jazz deal. But it definitely was the song. My mother’s name is Billye Jo. The song was from her, and from my dad and aunt as well, because that is the kind of “funny” they would think of. So I knew that Mama was going to hear my recital and be there in spirit and that my Heavenly “balcony people” were aware that I was doing this so I could re-enter the world. There are many signs and wonders going on right now that signal the larger changes–some interpret these as signs of the End Times. All you have to do is look around to see things that “not all can be explained away by your philosophy, Horatio.” Thanks for talking about this subject out in the open.

    • jtzortman says:

      I really love your story about hearing “Ode to Billie Joe” and the fact that your mother’s name is Billye Jo. We don’t have cardinals here, but they are supposed to absolutely be a “sign”. Yes, once you know what to look for, you will see so many things you wouldn’t have noticed before. Thanks for the nice, long answer with your own experiences included.

  2. monti7 says:

    I love your stories and what you believe. Thank you for sharing!
    Mary Montague Sikes

  3. ralph murphy says:

    i liked this piece. it’s not happened to me, but i wished it had. maybe it did and i wasn’t paying attention? anyway, nice article.

    • jtzortman says:

      It’s quite possible that you simply didn’t notice the signs, Ralph. Once you become aware, you’ll be amazed. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you did.

  4. John M. Wills says:

    Great post. I, too, believe in such signs, particularly from my deceased loved ones.

    • jtzortman says:

      Oh yes, John, mine normally come from deceased love ones who are near and dear to me. Thanks for stopping by, as you always do. I so appreciate that.

  5. I am grateful to Jackie for opening my eyes to the signs with We Are Different Now. Wonderful sharing in this post, too.

    • jtzortman says:

      Thank you, Nancy. Those are always wonderful words to hear about one’s books/blogs, as you well know. I appreciate your support so much.

  6. amreade says:

    I loved this story. Thinking of you.

  7. jtzortman says:

    Hi Amy – So glad you enjoyed my article. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you did.

Leave a Reply

