THE LOST IS FOUND!

Have you ever lost something and looked and looked for it to no avail, then later to find it in the exact place you looked more than once?  My friend, Olivia, blames that sort of thing on “the borrowers” whom she says come into your house at night and move things.

Richard eleven days before his heart attack.

Richard eleven days before his heart attack.

On October 31, 2014 my husband was outside digging a trench in our rocky and hard soil.  He wanted to bury an electric line to the outdoor landscaping lights to attach just one more.  He came inside and up the stairs (our main foor is up a flight), breathing heavily and plunked down in his favorite chair in the great room where I happened to be.  I took one look at him and asked if he was okay to which he replied he wasn’t sure.  He was sweating, but it was hot outside, and he said his back hurt really bad between his shoulders.  I took his blood pressure and could not get a reading, so gave him an aspirin and told him to get in the car.  He argued, but I told him to GET IN THE CAR in a manner he understood meant business.

Our doctor is 10 miles away, so as I drove 15 miles over the speed limit, I had him call and tell them we were coming and I thought he was having a heart attack.  Sure enough, Doc read his EKG and told me he had a myocardial infarction and he’d already called the ambulance.  The nearest hospital is 26 miles from Doc’s office, but he was in and out of cardiac surgery within two hours from the time the pain began and they found and removed one clot and placed a stent in his heart.  Fortunately, other than that, his heart is perfectly healthy.  He was in ICU for two days and two nights and I was given a plastic bag containing his personal items before I left that first evening.  I noticed one of his hearing aids was missing, so I had the doctor’s aide check the office floor and parking lot, to no avail. I also went back to the parking lot and looked for it myself, checked his hospital room, all through the car, the clothes he’d been wearing, etc. Knowing it was useless to continue looking, I called and had it replaced and we picked up the replacement on November 6th.

The hearing aid lost for two years.

The hearing aid lost for two years.

This morning, as I sat at my computer, my husband came up to me and showed me that missing hearing aid!  He found it in the wrought iron grate inside a wooden frame that sits outside the entry door to wipe one’s feet of mud or snow before coming into the hall.  Mind you, I clean that thing out when it gets gross, but the grate is heavy, so I cannot lift it out myself and unless he’s handy, I just do the best I can.  This little aid has been right there outside the door for almost two years through rain/hail/snow/wind and both of us have stepped over it a million times. I’ve even swept leaves out of it over and over.  So near and yet so far.

The grate where the hearing aid was for two years.

The grate where the hearing aid was for two years.

This probably is not as earth shattering as it has struck me, but I am simply blown away. He lost the other one on April 29, 2015 while trimming branches off a tree on our steep bank (our house is 50 feet up from the road) and we’ve never found it, even though we’ve both searched dozens of times and even used a metal detector. Of course, it’s also been replaced.

I don’t know what’s going on today, but I was in our bedroom, which is off the office, he was down in the great room and the cat was across the room asleep in a chair when the shredder started up, sounding like it was shredding papers. (???)  I can look outside and see the changing colors of the leaves, so fall and the spooky month with Halloween (the same day of Richard’s heart attack in 2014 and also the day he retired on in 2003) is looming and bringing with it ghosts and goblins…hopefully nothing more.

Do you have a similar story?  If so, I’d love to hear about it, so share it in the comments section, write it on Facebook or e-mail it to me. Meantime, stay safe as you enjoy your Labor Day weekend.

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Jackie is the author of award winning fiction novel FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST and her non-fiction book WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW.  For information on both, click the “About” button at the top of this page.

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in accidents, family, heart attack, Jackie Taylor Zortman. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to THE LOST IS FOUND!

  1. Carol Keller says:

    Loved your blog, Jackie. More than once during the 29 years I worked at Indian HIll HIgh School, after looking EVERYWHERE for my file from the previous year, I would give up and totally redo a project. The best part is that when I would go to file it, low and behold, there I would find my original file. It was NOT there when I looked several times before. Gremlins!.

    • jtzortman says:

      That’s an experience I can truly relate to, Carol. Like I said, Olivia attributes that to “The Borrowers” who come in at night and move your things around. It was great talking to you last night. Enjoy the All American Pig Roast today, The sun is out for your Mike here today.

  2. John M. Wills says:

    That’s a great story, particularly, how you likely saved your husband’s life. Amazing.

  3. jtzortman says:

    Thank you, John. Actually, I’ve never thought of it as saving his life. I just knew what had to be done and went about doing it. I was in the same sort of shock you get at first when someone close to you dies. I was terrified once we all got to the ER and the cardiologist told me what might happen. Thankfully, it went well and none of that came about.

  4. mmgornell says:

    So glad Richard is okay! Your quick and smart action saved his life I’m sure. Continued good health to both of you! On the disappearing items, they do actually disappear, then they return. Alternate universes possibly…

  5. jtzortman says:

    Hi Mad, Oh, Richard was okay when he left the hospital. He had his hair cut two days later and then we went to Montrose the day after that. Like I told John, I never thought I’d saved his life, just did what anyone would do for their mate. It seems that most females can relate to this disappearing/returning situation. 🙂

  6. Great story. I always thought there were gremlins who took things during the night!

  7. jtzortman says:

    The gremlin theory seems to be popular among the female comments about this quandary. In honesty, I do wonder how things appear precisely where you know you have looked for them before.

  8. Olivia Milton says:

    It is still the ‘borrowers’ and they stay busy at my house, constantly. Enjoyed the blog. As I was reading about the day of Richard’s heart attack, it brought back memories…….You did GOOD!!!! I am thankful everyday that you are my BFF!!!!

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, Olivia, it is “the borrowers”. You’ve convinced me. However, now they are also working outside the house! What’s next? I love you, my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

