THE QUAGMIRE THAT’S MY OFFICE

Whew!  Today, at long last, the office is neat and clean for the first time in a long while.  Each time I get it to this point, I swear up and down to myself and God that I will never, never, never allow this mess to accumulate again.  But it does.

When life is busy and I’m writing, trying to keep appointments, some semblance of an orderly home and a life slightly less than a hermit’s,  I tend to just toss papers into a heap on either the printer, my desk or the top of the files where I keep my book business. Eventually, this becomes comparable to wading through knee high sand.  Then I sort, shred, pitch and file every  paper that I need to deal with, usually with a 12 pound Siamese cat merrily running and jumping through it all.

My husband  has a gunsmith business and I share the office with him with individual desks and computers across the room from each other. Before I became a writer, I used to mutter to myself about how unbelievable it was that he could get his desk so incredibly littered.  Well, I surpassed him long ago because my mess takes up the entire room, which is fairly ample.

Today I almost ended up burning up freshly baked bread in the bread maker because when the signal went off that it was done, I continued focusing on what I was doing in the office until I noticed an unusually strong smell of bread.  I saved it just in time, though it does sort of have a little  bit of extra crunch around the edges of the crust.  But that gave me an excuse to stop, slice a thin piece off the end and enjoy a warm, fresh piece of bread with butter.

Be a writer they said.  It will be fun!  To be honest, for the most part, it really is!

Jackie is the author of award winning fiction novel FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST and non-fiction book WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW.  Read about them by clicking the “about” button at the top of this page.
About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Authors, Jackie Taylor Zortman, writer's office, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE QUAGMIRE THAT’S MY OFFICE

  1. The Siamese cat enjoying the papers has me smiling 😻

Leave a Reply

