GOD BLESS US, EVERY ONE!

dscn9181The month of December has been an interesting one around our house this year.  We have an infestation of those aggravating little black gnats and I finally figured out they secretly sneaked into the house via a bag of planting soil that was open in the basement.  For whatever reason, they love hanging out around my computer monitor, which I consider to be odd, not to mention extremely irritating.

Ermine 2016

Ermine 2016

We have a cute little ermine that’s hanging around in his white winter coat that turns brown in the summer.  They’ve been around our house for years, for whatever reason, and are cute to watch.  They turn white in winter to match the snow and have a little black tip on the end of their tail. This photo only shows half his long slim body.

My husband had an 80-mile round trip to the ER the other night due to double vision that lasted about half way there.  After a zillion tests, blood draw and CT scans of his brain/neck/blood vessels, nothing was found to be wrong.  The family doc and I think he had an ocular migraine. That’s so much better than a stroke or TIA.

Five weeks ago, our cat kichai-2went into congestive heart failure on a trip to the vet in the same town where the hospital is and had an overnight stay.  Yesterday, he had to go back for a checkup and his lungs are clear, he’s greatly improved and she’s cutting his meds down now.  He’s a Siamese and we bought and flew him here in 2004 as an  18th anniversary present to each other, which makes him super special, as does his loving personality.  He’s the baby we didn’t have together.

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

I had a lovely surprise when a local newspaper reporter called and did an interview with me as one of many local authors.  She wrote a very nice article that appeared this week.  And two days ago, I nervously forced myself to step out of my comfort zone and take a leap into an offer from a public relations firm for 2017.  What do I have to lose with professional publicity? The bonus is I gain more time to write.

I just noticed Christmas and the beginning of Hanukkah are both on December 25th this year, which seems unusual.  So, I want to take this time to wish each and every one of you a wonderful and Merry Christmas or a Happy Hanukkah and let’s all pray that 2017 brings us all peace and prosperity. May the unrest and hatred over the election finally disappear and we can, once again, love one another. I think my cousin in San Antonio, Texas summed it up beautifully when he told me, “Blessings abound  during Christmas time.  Let it be so!”

 MERRY CHRISTMAS!

dscn9180

 

 

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in Christmas, family, Hanukkah, Jackie Taylor Zortman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

