LOOKING BACK

Sitting here in my Colorado mountain tourist town home on New Year’s Eve, I discovered that it is sad as we approach the ending of each year because, in spite of the rampant remarks about the bad things that happened in 2016, there were also many good things.  But as I was pondering this subject, I wandered many years back to some things that used to be, but are no more. Two recent losses sent me there.

Back in the early 80s, my ex-husband and I bought a lot downtown and erected a commercial building on it.  It housed a rental apartment on the top floor, my bookstore just above ground level and a rental store below that.  My ex had an office in the back of the bookstore  for his CPA practice and the bookstore shared it for its office,  as well . 

One day I was working  in the bookstore alone when in walked none other than Debbie Reynolds, whose parents lived here at the time.  Her mother was a rather wonderfully extroverted character, but in a good, down-to-earth way.  Everybody local knew and loved her.  I only saw Debbie’s father one time and he appeared to be a rather quiet gentleman. But our meeting was brief, so I don’t really know.

Debbie’s father loved books and especially Louis L’Amour’s, so she was always shopping for those and other westerns for him.  Imagine my surprise when, while browsing the shelves, she suddenly started singing “Tammy’s In Love” as I answered my ringing store telephone that day.   

Another time, she and Carrie Fisher came in to shop and Carrie volunteered to send an autograph home to my then teenage son, which she signed Princess Leia.  She was at the height of her fame for that role at the time.

The last time I saw Debbie was when she rode beside another local resident, Dennis Weaver, in the July 4th parade a few years ago.  And now, sadly, they are all gone.  Even though I heard it said on a recent show about them that Debbie and Carrie were “big deal and high maintenance broads,” neither of them acted that way when they were here and I am proud to have had the privilege of meeting both of them.  Dennis Weaver was the same – unpretentious and always out and about and approachable, though we tend to let the movie stars alone around here because I think they come here to escape that sort of thing.

To pull myself out of this roaming back into the past, which was provoked by the two deaths,  I told myself that, even though this night was to be an ending, it is also a wonderful, new beginning.  I don’t make resolutions anymore, but I do have high hopes that 2017 is going to be an outstandingly wonderful year for us all.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

Author Jackie Taylor Zortman

About jtzortman

Author of "WE ARE DIFFERENT NOW" - A Grandparent's Journey Through Grief and first place award winning novel "FOOTPRINTS IN THE FROST". Contributing author to anthologies "Felons, Flames & Ambulance Rides", "American Blue", "Recipes by the Book: Oak Tree Authors Cook" and "The Centennial Book of The National Society of Daughters of the Union 1861-1865". Numerous articles, poems and short stories published since 1990. Charter Member of the Public Safety Writers Association and member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Winner of ten writing awards. I live in a quaint Colorado mountain tourist town with my husband and Siamese cat. When deeps snows blanket the terrain and spectacular views from my windows, it becomes the perfect spot in which to write.
This entry was posted in books, Carrie Fisher, Celebrities, Debbie Reynolds, Jackie Taylor Zortman, New Year's Eve. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to LOOKING BACK

  1. marilynm says:

    Good post. We have had some stars who’ve lived around our small town and we are the same with them, treating them as ordinary people.

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, it just seems to be the polite thing to do, doesn’t it? I think they like that since they have so much of it when they are other, bigger places. Thanks for stopping by, Marilyn.

  2. John M. Wills says:

    How fortunate for you.

    • jtzortman says:

      Yes, it was fun. We have lots of stars around because we’re close to Telluride. Louis L’Amour lived in Durango and he once wandered into my store, too. Very nice man.

  3. Thanks for the peek into the secret lives of celebs! Must share. 🙂

  4. Peggy says:

    Good post Jax. Always love ve these local glimpses of celebrities.

    • jtzortman says:

      Thanks, Peg. Those particular experiences were long ago now, but with their demise, it brought them back to my mind. Very sad about their passings. Glad you stopped by and let me know you did.

  5. Linda Reed says:

    As always, I enjoy your posts so much. Whether celebrities or not, there are some folks who are unforgettable once you have met them. Many of the people who have every reason to be snobbish are the ones who seem the most personable.

  6. mmgornell says:

    Lovely post — keep safe, and have a great 2017!

  7. Carol Keller says:

    Very nice, Jackie. Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful 2017.

  8. jtzortman says:

    Same to you and Dave, Carol. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

